Skip to content
+1-888-319-3663

COMMUNITY FORUM

DO NO UNMAP PORTION OF MAP DUE TO PERMISSIONS – GIVE WARNING AND EXIT

PATTY STEPP asked 10 months ago
If a user is missing a checkbox in the GP Connection then UNMAPPING can occur in the map.  
Most users only run maps and do not understand this process.  Under no circumstances should the map unmap itself.  This breaks the development of creating the map which was done by the consulting team or high level user at the client.   
 The end user does not know, understand, or should be required to follow the steps to exit the map immediately and do not save.
 Another issue with permission.  We have to give them permission to create/ edit the map because they need to pick the spreadsheet.  That is the only thing we want them to touch.  Since the user has permissions to do that, when they run, SmartConnect automatically saves before running.   This is when they get the error and they blow past it and the mapping is removed.
 I would prefer you pop up error you do not have permissions and do not save, do not save the new spreadsheet path or save anything. You should force the exit and not allow them to save or auto save.   
 Perhaps we should have a new level of permission to only allow them to change the source document but not edit anything else in the map. And yes, I know about folder sources to get around that but there are other reasons we did not go this direction that I will not list in this email. 
 
I would appreciate your consideration to make program changes to prevent this behavior.

If you would like to submit an answer or comment, please sign in to the eOne portal.